Why you should make a list of goals each month

At the beginning of every year, the majority of the world decides to make New Year’s Resolutions. I used to take part in this ritual, and make my long list of things I wanted to change in the upcoming year. My list would be super long and included things that were damn near impossible for me to achieve in a year. I would repeat this ritual each and every year; then forget about it within the first few months of the New Year. A few years ago I completely stopped making New Year’s Resolutions altogether.  I never followed through so it was a complete waste of time for me.  I felt it was more of a hindrance for me than anything.

 

While I still think that it is important to have huge yearly goals, I believe being realistic with oneself is essential. This year I decided to make goals for myself each month instead of yearly goals. So far, it has been going much better than I anticipated. Having goals I meet on a monthly basis doesn’t overwhelm me as much. I find it kind of fun to cross things off my list as I complete them.  I feel like I am accomplishing things on a smaller scale, which will lead me to accomplishing even bigger goals. I don’t always complete each and every monthly goal I set, but I don’t beat myself up about it. If I don’t meet a goal on my list, I just rewrite it under the list for the upcoming month.

luxury-silver-pen-with-a-business-diary-picjumbo-com

Today is the last day of May. It’s time to make my goal list for the month of June. As usual, I have so many things I want to get done. But I have chosen the most realistic goals I can meet within this month. I want to share my list with you all. If you’re a over-thinker like me, I hope this will encourage you to try something different.

June Goals

  • Work out at least 5 days a week
  • Drink more water
  • Make my first Youtube video
  • Meal plan
  • Live in the moment
  • Focus on managing my stress levels
  • Try something new

 

Do you have any new goals you are working on completing? Leave a comment below & share them with me!


Written by:

Kami, The Isis Files

IMG_1082 2
23, Tobago. @elysianfair

 

2 Replies to “Why you should make a list of goals each month”

Leave a Reply

