Natural Hair Inspiration

image2(1)

Hi! My name is Shamiya, I’m 24 years old and I reside in Florida.  I have been natural for about 8 years and a loc’d natural for 4 years.

Initially, I decided to go natural because I was sick and tired of relaxing my hair once a week to maintain a hair style that was exhausting to manage. I would relax my hair and struggle to keep it as straight as possible. The humidity in Florida is a beast that I do not have to be concerned with anymore.

image1(1)

The founder of The Isis Files actually inspired me because before I met her, I had never saw a person with such beautiful hair! It is very unfortunate that at 15 I knew so little about natural hair. I was programmed to believe that a relaxer was the only way to go.

Now that I am a loc’d natural, I feel like my hair means a lot to me. Every loc is different! After spending my entire life dismissing the idea of loc’ing my hair, it was the best decision I could have ever made.

image3(1)

It is very low maintenance, and I retwist or interlock once every 3-4 months. I get tons of new growth and I typically use some sort of gel to lay my edges down because I do not like frizzy edges! I wash very irregularly and only about twice a month. I do not use any specific hair products.

I hope I can inspire others to go natural, and really take time to explore how beautiful your hair is in its natural state!

 

 

 

Written By:

Shamiya, The Isis Files Author

FullSizeRender
24, Tampa, FL.  @shamiya.lovett

 

 

3 Replies to “Natural Hair Inspiration”

  1. inspired , i am from Africa and i wear my natural hair always its good to see others embrace their hair and showing it off.My natural hair journey so far has been a great one and i have learnt a lot of things about myself and above all i have learnt the patience virtue which has helped me stay out of troubles in life. keep that hair shinning

    Like

Leave a Reply

