Life After Graduation

In the year 2017 – I will be 23 years old, celebrating my 1 year anniversary in this new city and at my job, and hoping to find a second income, so I can finally move out and get my own place.

I don’t know if it was just my imagination or if the majority of college graduates go through the same thing, but I thought life after college would be extremely different.
Now, I know I was not going to be the CEO or the Marketing Director of a huge company. However, I thought I would (at least) work in a marketing firm or a marketing department. Boy, was I wrong! Everyone and I mean everyone wanted YEARS OF EXPERIENCE.  How the heck does one get years of experience if no one is willing to give them a chance?
Image result for gifs of a college student

That was my battle.

My last few months of college I was ecstatic. I had interviews lined up, but they were all direct selling, in a Walmart or Sam’s Club. That’s not where I find the slight of happiness. I passed up the offers on those jobs, and the search continued.
Image result for gifs working at a job you don't like
I finally got hired at a place. Yes, it is a good company, but I am not in the position that I want to be, and I am not doing what I love (which sucks).
After graduation, I knew I was going to have a good job (in my career of choice), and I was going to have such an amazing apartment. Neither of those things happened, unfortunately.
Image result for gifs working at a job you don't like
Don’t get me wrong. I still have my constant moments in life where I feel like I have nothing going on for me because I am 22 and not some big time business woman. Then I remember, I am ONLY 22. I have time (plenty of it). This year, I realized I need to do what makes me happy and stop putting so much pressure on myself.
That’s why I am blogging, and hopefully soon, I will have an active youtube channel. There are many things that I want to do in life, and they are all possible. I just have to work and know nothing will be handed to me on a silver platter, that’s unrealistic.
So,
Dear College Graduate,
If you feel like life is not where you daydreamed it will be, it is ok! We have time, and you are not alone. Focus on what makes you happy and make a career out of it.
If you want advice, or just simply want to read about my thoughts, life, and experience check out my blog imterrah.com
Sincerely,
Terrah LP
Written By:
Terrah LP
Processed with VSCO with b5 preset
22, San Antonio, TX.                               @imterrah
2 Replies to “Life After Graduation”

Leave a Reply

