Easy Tips For Slimming Down

I am often asked how I maintain my weight.   “You eat so much, yet you never gain any weight”, is a common phrase I hear from acquaintances. Those who know me personally know that I may pig out sometimes, yet I strive to maintain a healthy lifestyle. Now, I am far from perfect and I have moments where I revert to eating things that I know, for a fact, are horrible for my body. ie: juicy burgers, yummy lamb & shrimp gyros and whatever craving I may have at that moment. I am definitely a foodie!!!

Yet, when I feel myself slipping too deep into these unhealthy eating habits and I look down at my bloated stomach, I tell myself I need to do better.  Now, unless I am feeling absolutely horrible about myself, I don’t usually kick start into health eating the exact day I say I’m going to start. I am human, so it may take me a week or two to even start attempting to eat healthy again.

I have realized that it’s easier to introduce diet changes into my daily routine, one at time. For example, if I would like to go on a salad diet, I will start off by making sure I eat a salad every two to three days. Over the next two weeks, I will gradually increase it to every other day. Before I know it, my body actually begins to crave salads.

Tip: Getting creative with salad recipes is key to helping your mind stay on the right track!!

Below are some simple things I use to keep weight/bloating off. Keep in mind, these tips may not be quick fixes for you, so patience is key. However, incorporate these tips into your lifestyle, and I am pretty sure within three weeks or less you will start to see changes in your body. Try to document the changes you see with photos. No matter how small they may seem, the changes make a difference. It is amazing to look back at photos to see how far you have come. In my humble opinion, it is the best form of encouragement as you embark on your weight loss journey.

5 Easy Ways To Slim Down:

Image from_ www.walmart.com

Apple Cider Vinegar (ACV)

In the last year I have noticed my stomach bloating more often than before. After about 2 weeks of using ACV I noticed that my stomach started looking completely flat again.  ACV is my favorite go to for bloating and I recommend it to everyone I know.  The brand I use is Bragg’s Organic Apple Cider Vinegar (With The ‘Mother’).  Twice a day, I mix 2 tablespoons of ACV in a glass of warm water. I usually do this in the morning before eating and in the evening before dinner. ACV is amazing for digestion, among other things, which is why I try and drink it before my meals. The taste isn’t great so I highly recommend drinking in warm water or even herbal tea. If you must use a sweetener, use honey!

IMG_1603

Detox Water

Full a water bottle or large cup w/ a lid with water. Squeeze half a lemon into water. Add a few mint leaves, a few sliced cucumbers and a few shreds of ginger. Drop a few cubes of ice into bottle or cup and place in the fridge to chill. Sip on this throughout the day.

Lighthousefellowship

Tea w/ Fresh Lemon Juice

Before eating breakfast, I drink herbal tea and squeeze half of a lemon into it.

Lighthousefellowship(1)

Opting for Healthy Snacks

A few of my favorite healthy snacks include: chips & salsa/hummus/guacamole, strawberries & cool whip, fruit smoothies/green juice, fruit bowls, Greek yogurt with fruit, apples w/ peanut butter, sushi and sweet potato fries.

Lighthousefellowship(2)

Limiting My Red Meat intake

I don’t eat pork at all. I have beef occasionally. When eating out, my first choice is always chicken or fish. At home I usually only cook chicken, fish and sometimes seafood. When trying to slim down, limiting meat sources, especially red meat, will help drastically.

Written By:

Kami, The Isis Files

IMG_1082 2
23, Tobago, @elysianfair
2 Replies to “Easy Tips For Slimming Down”

Leave a Reply

